The Last 3 Months: What a Whirlwind

Posted on Updated on

I couldn’t take it anymore. I haven’t been here writing in over 3 months, and it finally got to me. I have a good excuse though. It’s called life. It somehow got in the way, and that’s a good thing.

As transpeople, sometimes we forget that there’s more to life than just our transition. It can cause a level of depression once transition is over and you begin to integrate into regular life. I’ve been fortunate enough to not have to deal with that.

In September, after 6 months of job searching, I finally landed a job with a very prestigious company. It is amazing and I will definitely write about my job hunting experiences soon.

Besides the hustle and bustle that comes with starting a new job, I spent the last 3 months going through relationship ups and downs. Learning to date as a transwoman brings an interesting revelation on people and intimacy. I will expand on those details in a future article as well.

When I started working my new job, I would find that coming home to an empty house was very lonely. Because of that my therapist encouraged me to start going out and doing things and meeting new people. So I did.

I joined a few meetup groups, began having dinner with people, going to special events, as well as doing other things like programmer events. Staying busy five nights a week made it hard to find time to write. This is one of the reasons that I have not written in the last 3 months.

I am anticipating that 2016 will contain a lot more writing and more stability in my life. I think I’m finally at a place where I can get this work, life, family balance in just the right quantities.

Here’s to no more writing droughts.

Leave a comment